top of page
  • Girls who STEM

Meet Nityanshi

"But my passion did not fade"

Hi everyone, I’m Nityanshi. I am currently studying in Grade 11. I am a pure science student, meaning I have physics, chemistry, biology and math as my subjects. It is my love for these subjects that has carried me till this point in my life. When I was in class 10, about a year ago, contemplating what subjects to take up in class 11, my father told me that science was not a ‘girl’s thing’ and that I could take up the Commerce stream. Moreover, my uncle was strictly against women education at a higher level so he found science for women to be a waste. He just wanted to marry me off in the future as soon as possible. My mother, however, wanted me to follow my dreams, but could not speak up against my father’s word. I was pretty crushed after hearing my father’s take on this. However, I was studying these subjects with the same passion and perseverance. My mother was the one who noticed me spend all my time with my science text-books. She would come and scold me for studying so often, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t absolutely enjoy it. After a point, my mother got fed up of this. But it came out in a good way. She went and told father about my excessive studying habits and he, who had not given me any attention all his life, realized what a great student I could be. Since then, I would oftentimes find him peeking through the door, into my room to see my studying. He was convinced and he wrote a letter to the school asking a subject change for me. One fine day when I was in my room, engrossed with Newton, mother and father came to my room and gave me class 11 science books, and whispered, ‘we know you can do it’. My uncle, still pestered by the decision, sat with his arms folded at the side. I knew this would be a topic of agitation in the house.


Picture credits: WIX media



22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page